The UK Academy for Information Systems was established in 1994 to foster a better understanding of the Information Systems field within the UK. We provide a forum for discussing issues in IS teaching and research and lobby professional/policy bodies on behalf of our field, such as HEFCE, the UK Research Councils, UK business and Government. There is a conference every year, normally held in Oxford, which is preceded by a PhD consortium.


·       To promote a better knowledge and understanding of information systems within the United Kingdom.
·       To improve the practice of information systems teaching and research.
·       To enable successful knowledge transfer of IS research into teaching and practice in order to provide a positive economic and societal impact.


The Academy is a charity which supports the initiatives proposed by its members. It conducts its work by means of task forces and special interest groups. These groups may be formed with the advice and consent of the Academy's Board in accordance with the aims of the Academy.

All administration is the responsibility of the president. He or she will also chair the Annual General Meeting of the Academy. The Academy's Board will consist of the president, vice president and elected members. The Board is responsible for matters of policy.

Current board members

Savvas Papagiannidis(President)
Diana Limburg (Treasurer)

Full board members: Rachel McLeanLaurence Brooks, Oliver KayasMarie GriffithsCrispin CoombsDavid WainwrightMaria Kutar, Gelareh Roushan.

Coopted members: Guy Fitzgerald, Mareike SchoopPatrick Buckley, Yu-Chun Pan, Dimitra Skoumpopoulou, Julian Sims.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software